Golden Cage, Broken Armor

I can still hear his voice in the back of my head, “You will never be great!” Stumbling, I’d find my way back to my room and write my tears away. This was day after day. 

It was rebellion, I was more than a little trophy he could show off to his friends. It was emotion, I haven’t seen you in two weeks, would you care to please be there? It was disgusting. Time after time evolving on words that hurt like stone. Oh such, such a fragile soul. 

It was my childhood. A golden cage, a broken armor. Birds chirping, parents arguing in the background. A fire gun. 

I refuse to bitch about it like a victim of my fate. Smile for life, Baby, Simply look the other way. 

-H.S.

Anything to Say ? Leave a Reply

